RSS Feed

The Kitchen, Almost Done

This post is especially for Krista. She is my #1 blog reader. I know this only because she always posts a comment after reading our blogs. I love getting feed back folks! You don’t even have to be nice, just truthful. Β 

Here are photos of the before, during and almost done (the floor is the major item left undone). When we decided to keep the house (rather than the prior plan of flipping it) Lance took a different approach. The ‘get er done’ and the ‘good enough’ way. When he flipped houses in the past, he paid extra special attention to what buyers would be looking for (and, ultimately, willing to pay for). Now we’ve gone for what works for us.

The before photo

Before

During

In the midst

The kitchen (almost done)

Almost done

I love our kitchen! Especially the eat-at-counter. The plan WAS to stain the new cabinets to match the old, but we found out the prefab cabinets were already stained. Well, that’s good enough for us. Yes, that’s a washing machine IN the kitchen. Mare is able to cook and do laundry all in the same room. The dryer, fridge and pantry are to the right (opposite the kitchen sink).

Lance asked me if I wanted a dishwasher installed. Since our goal is to use less energy, I decided I could do without. My friend, in the same thrifty boat as me, uses her dishwasher as a drying drawer. A place to stash her dishes as they drip dry. I have the antique version, a dish rack on my countertop.

Now you’ve gotten a glimpse of our tiny kitchen in our little cabin (I’ll save ‘ultra tiny’ to describe our bath). You also know I take ‘requests’. Anything you’d like to see or read about in an upcoming blog? Just let me know. I may be happy to oblige.

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

10 responses »

  1. I may have to get one of those risers for our washer and dryer….

    I’m out of vanilla if you get bored!

    Reply
  2. Looks good……..quite a difference in the before/after pictures. Lance does good work!

    Reply
  3. Wow. Your kitchen is amazing. Mary I may have to stop reading your blog because it just makes me covet your life. It’s too hard!!!

    Reply
    • Di, if we can do it, why can’t you?

      Reply
      • I have no idea HOW you two are doing it! My guess is you need some sort of nest egg to start out with. Ours isn’t even the size of a robin’s egg yet! Maybe when we’re a bit older and have a goose egg we’ll jump ship and find our own little spot somewhere. You guys are livin’ the dream.

      • Di- We did sell 2 ‘flips’ last year. Don’t wait til you’re our age. Work towards it now. Next casa make it rural (rent or own). Oh, and we spent less on a wedding πŸ˜‰

      • Well we aren’t spending much on ours, so we’re doing that part right. I think it’ll be hard to live rural considering I work downtown and will probably retire from there, assuming there aren’t any drastic changes (anarchy, end of the world, etc.). We can build up a nest egg but ain’t no way we’re flipping houses! We don’t have those kinds of skills. πŸ™‚

  4. LOVE, love, love it! Wow, my OCD tendencies are titillated just looking at those before and after pics. As always, the renovation performed by y’all is real eye candy for my eyeballs. Gorgeous. I may have to hire out Lance as a consultant when we finally downsize and get our cheapo fixer upper. πŸ˜‰ PS – Look at all these comments! I think your invitation for feedback worked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

