RSS Feed

Day 26 Of Going Nowhere

Day 26 Of Going Nowhere

Whelp, we didn’t get into town today as previously planned. Oddly enough it’s getting easier, to go no where. It even seems more of a challenge to actually GO somewhere. Today was just too pretty, to go into town. Especially when you’re working outside, installing solar panels. It was a glorious spring day. Yesterday and today I attempted to help with the solar panel installation by assembling the brackets, screws and spring nuts (see photo in icon image for spring nut). I am happy to help the mister (as long as I don’t have to eat liver, skin an animal or climb on the roof).  

On Sunday it will be 4 weeks since we’ve been anywhere. Time flies, we must be having fun. Once you get over the fact that you’re out of this and that, you start to appreciate what you DO have. I had been somewhat of a fruit snob. When Lance was stocking up on fruit and veggies at Costco (in the canned food aisle of all unforsaken places) he asks what kind of canned fruit I liked. I immediately answered, ‘NONE’. I suggested he buy what he thought he’d eat. Well, when your produce drawer goes empty, you’re willing to experiment. It turns out, canned pineapple and jarred applesauce is quite tasty. I even devoured a can of peas when no one was looking.

Lance has been quite busy installing our solar panels on the roof of the barn. I was jealous of his sun exposure, I joined him on the roof. Not the barn roof, mind you (its way too high), but the wood shed roof. I sat up there, assembling some nuts and bolts, while across the yard he assembled panels on the barn. While I loved the direct sun exposure, I hated watching him work so hard while he was obviously so sore. The sun went behind a really tall pine and I extracted myself from the woodshed roof. I was able to convince him he wasn’t doing his body or us any favors by working so hard while hurting. The promise of a massage can work miracles on a hard-working man!

May I remind you, it’s been 26 days since we’ve been anywhere (especially a grocery store). We officially ran out of milk today. I opened up a can of evaporated milk and that was the source of our coffee creamer. As long as you’re not expecting it to taste like milk, you’ll not be disappointed. Heck, it turns the coffee the tan color we like, so we’re 1/2 way there. Might I add that we had not planned to stay away from civilization for over a month. If we had, I would have stocked up on non dairy creamers, cheeses and chocolates.

I’ve gotten pretty good at using what we DO have and making it work. Tonight we had the most scrumptious buffalo chicken, blue cheese pizza, from scratch! (Insert beaming with pride moment for my from scratch, pizza crust).Yummy Pizza From Scratch We are blessed, beyond belief. I hope you’re able to realize what all you have, too!

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

10 responses »

  1. Great job on the pizza Mare.

    Reply
  2. The pizza was VERY yummy!

    Reply
  3. That pizza looks yummy Mare!!! I so love you and Lance for keeping us “city dependent” folks updated. I have found that I log on everyone morning and look for your blog just to see what inspiration I can get today…Keep up the good work, love to you and L!!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Kimmie! I’d be happy to share my pizza crust recipe, granted I failed the first few attempts (few=6). Or if you want to know how I get a stubborn galvanized screw to go into the spring nut ;-). I love writing this blog and it’s nice to know it gets read!

      Reply
  4. The canned pineapple and applesauce are my favorite canned fruit – the right kind of canned peaches rate high too.

    Reminder about that rice milk thing for back-up.

    FYI – Cathy and I are pretty much on a full plant base diet now; her about 3 years and me about a year — almonds, raw cashews and other nuts make a great base for spreads, dressings, cheese sauces, loafs – in combination with various beans, rice, etc. Learning about how to season these things is the real ‘transformer’ creating a wide range of dishes. We give vegan cooking demos for the community once a month with benefit info to encourage a simpler and more plant base whole food diet. Occasionally we eat at this Thai vegan restaurant and amazed at the art of making plant base foods like about any kind of meat, poultry and sea food you can think of — their “ice cream” is about the best I’ve had anywhere – I’m meaning to get their recipe.

    With dried fruit, dehydrated items and that ‘sprouting’ you mentioned a few days ago, I can see myself, with a small green house thrown in on the side, holding up in some remote retreat for a year or so…! Internet would be important for the time being, however. Why, with all the fun we can have – sharing it would just double the pleasure/double the fun. There are so many things I want to learn about and experiment with concerning gardening, nutrition, cooking, naturopathic health care, etc. Have you ever heard of “Black Salve Herbal Surgery?” “Alternative” health care treatment is scary as well as unimaginably promising. Just because it’s “natural” doesn’t mean you can just jump in and “do-it-yourself” — like any discipline it takes education and experience, and understanding that nothing is 100%. For some fun, google “black salve” and get some very fascinating pros and cons.

    O. K. – you said you liked ‘feed back’ so this is my contribution. Since I can get so wordy, as you can see – I’ll keep my comments in the occasional category.

    Reply
    • Yes! I love comments. It’s nice getting to know you a little better too. I’m hoping you’ll hand over your recipe for Lentil Soup, Lance says you make a really tasty one (I made one batch that was awesome and one batch even the neighborhood dog wouldn’t eat).
      We’ve cut back on meat eating. If I had to participate in killing, skinning or prepping the meat, I’d be a vegetarian in an instant!

      I made some coconut milk ice cream yesterday that Lance said you’d probably love (it was a little too rich for him). You Knoechel men sure do like your ice cream (Kirk always had a container of the good stuff in our freezer when he lived with us).

      Lance has plans for a small greenhouse too (as well as an outdoor kitchen, amongst many other projects in the years to come). Since we don’t have a lot of land here, gardening will be mostly in containers.

      Interesting reading on black salve. Our current ‘miracle drug’ is colliodal silver. Lance brews us up a batch every couple months. It heals cuts and scrapes on the skin in record time!

      Rice milk is on the list to get/try, consider stocking up on.

      Reply
  5. Mmmmmm…pizza looks yummy. You are a Renaissance Woman now. 🙂

    Reply
  6. We’ll swap recipes on that “coconut” ice cream for the lentil soup… Catch you on e-mail unless we want friends to look in on the recipe trade…

    The ice cream thing I got from my dad – and the love of cheese – big dairy fan before he was aware over the last couple decades of some of the down-side of dairy – he just turned 91 – so —– he still had many healthy life style choices – work out with weights 3/4 times a week, ate his vegetarian diet food slowly, rarely augmentative or controversial, was consistent and reasonable in living his religious faith and abstained from commonly addictive things (he did like his Ester Price chocolate candy – temperately used,however!)

    Colloidal silver – need to look into that…

    Kenneth Mark has found wonder works in MgOH – known as milk of magnesia.

    Got a load of Eucalyptus fire wood…. really burning great – we like the wood burning stove even more now. I still want to invest time and material in passive solar heating – the ultimate ecological choice.

    Looking forward to hear how the rice milk works for you…

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Angels With Tools In Tow « Let's go to Idaho

Leave a Reply

