RSS Feed

Life Is Full Of Surprises

We’ve lived in northern Idaho now for 2 of the 4 seasons. Springtime has just begun. The fact that we love it here, even after a rainy Fall and a snowy Winter, makes me a little bit giddy about the prospects of Spring and Summer. If you’re a follower of ours, you know that we first considered moving to Idaho in June, 2011. We bought a house, sight unseen, in July and moved here in August. God has been QUITE merciful in this journey. We are very glad to be here.

Today was the first real feel of Spring. Temps in the upper 50s made this Sunday a glorious one. I stayed quite busy ‘spring cleaning’ this morning. I reflected on the surprising ‘pros’ experienced in our life here. Maybe they’re surprising to me because we didn’t have a lot of time to learn/wonder/consider what life in the Pacific Northwest would be like. Thankfully, it’s been filled with pleasant surprises…

When was the last time you drank ‘tap water’?  You know, turned on the water at the kitchen sink, put a glass under the faucet, then drank the water. I love our water. We’re on a well. Apparently a deep, dandy, super-duper well. The water is really cold and quite tasty. We have a fridge with filtered water, but I prefer the water from the kitchen sink. It’s colder and full of earthly minerals. Just think of the money we save not having to buy bottled water. Even a better plus, the minerals from the earth my body is reaping!

Another surprise, who knew I was capable of adapting to a much simpler beauty-style. Since I’ve been with Lance, I’ve never once colored my hair. Ah, let the grey hairs rule the head. Do you remember the post when I mentioned he even cut my hair?! I’ve worn make-up maybe thrice, since we’ve lived here. The last time was when I went to a local job fair. I couldn’t wait to wash it off!

After this morning’s spring cleaning (washing windows), I went outside to split some wood. Keep in mind, I suck at this. I do so enjoy trying to achieve some exercise and stocking up on some smaller wood pieces for the fireplace. I’ve never split wood in my life. I still suck at it, but I’m improving. Maybe by next winter I’ll be stronger and ready to fill our wood shed with expertly split wood. In the meantime, I’m thankful our neighbors let us borrow their log-splitter.

Here we are, the end of March, and we’ve finally gotten a warm, spring-like day. Temps were well into the 50s/60s and Lance and I were both in short sleeves and soaking up the sunshine as we proceeded with our tasks at hand. He with the solar panel installation, me with my vitamin D absorption. There was still plenty of snow on the ground. Here I am, wearing flip-flops, while there is snow on the ground. That takes some getting use to. My friends and family in Alabama seem to have skipped springtime and gone straight into summer, with 80 degrees + humidity. Add to that serious pollen issues. Yeah, I don’t miss that.

There are many other pleasant surprises in my life. The fact that I love and identify with Laura Ingalls Wilder and her accounts of life in the country in her book series, Little House On The Prairie. Not only was life simpler in those days, it was full of daily adventures just outside your door in nature. It sounds like the Ingalls have moved as much as we have…

Other surprising aspects of our life here are; having only one bathroom! Who among you has ever lived in a house with only ONE (1) bathroom!?  Growing up in Iowa with 7 kids in our family we had ONE shower (and 2 toilets). Seems surreal to have a family of nine with only one shower. I have zero negative memories about my childhood, least of all, only having 1.5 bathrooms. When Lance’s brother was living here with us, it was more of a challenge, having one bath and 3 people. I knew that when he took a novel into the restroom, I’d better make other plans…

In the previous 50 years of my life I’ve had a fireplace in most of my homes. I can count the number of fires I’ve had on one hand. What’s up with that? Maybe it was because I lived in warmer climates. Maybe the thought of having to clean said fireplace outweighed the desire to have fires in it. Surprise to me, I love fires! I love starting them, stoking them, smelling them…I don’t even mind cleaning up after them.

All in all, we’re quite content with our little cabin in the big woods. Sure, there is lots left to do, but surprisingly, we’re quite content with where we have landed… What a wonderful surprise to look outside and see what God has cooked up today for our view.

Todays view, brought to us by, God

March view

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

One response »

  1. I would say you hit the jackpot o’ good surprises up o’er there in the Pacific Northwest. Took quite a gamble to get it, but no guts, no glory, eh? 😉 While I cringe at snow, I bet summer up there will be truly enviable. And we here in the Midwest are having tree pollen galore like your friends and fam in Alabama (tho the pollen level isn’t Bama bad, I’m sure … pollen’s downright crazy down thar!) … makes my throat and lungs feel like they’re full of fiberglass, blech. I’d much rather be breathin your fresh, crisp mountain air right about now. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

