RSS Feed

Northern Idaho :: We Live In A Calendar

Driving home from town yesterday, I found myself in awe of the scenery. Nothing new with that. We’ve lived here 8 months and I still marvel at what beautiful country this is. Maybe it was the emergence of Spring and the greenery sprouting, thanks to the copious amounts of precipitation we’ve received. Lance commented that I looked in deep thought (that’s a rarity for me ;-)). That’s when it dawned on me; where we live could be the subject of many breath-taking calendar entries. Each month here has been beautiful, even the rainiest month of March. Seeing the storm clouds hug the mountains not only raised the level of the lakes and rivers, it also elevated my appreciation for how cool clouds are.

As with any routine that is broken, my blogging has slowed down. The first of April was spent enjoying my son’s 10 day visit. Then I mourned his leaving. I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed having a hiking buddy. Not just any hiking buddy, but one who shared my love for nature, adventure and junkyard dogs. Mid to late April, when the sun was out, so was I. During the dreary days, I spent a lot of time searching for employment via the internet. I even went to a couple of interviews. Good practice, I tell myself, as I loathe putting on make up and pants without a drawstring.

My goal for May is to get back into the swing of things blogwise. The list of story ideas is long. I just need to get reconnected with my inner-voice that longs to share the love for our new home state. Check out a few shots taken in and around our neighborhood from April~>

Charlie's visit + SNOW

Snow and Charlie arrive in April

Snow, shorts, jogging

CP view from the top

Favorites (the view and the young man)

April was quite a nice month weather wise up here in Idaho. We got enough precipitation to ensure glorious May flowers. More importantly, we got enough sun to super-charge me and our solar panels. I sat outside one sunny afternoon, assembling parts for Lance’s solar array. I got THE BEST TAN in a matter of hours. OK, so I burned a tad and had funky flip-flop tan lines on my feet, but oh how glorious it felt. I’ve always been a sun seeker. My youth was spent as a member of the ‘Bod Squad’ at our local country club pool. When my kids were young, I’d drag them outside every chance I could. When TV and Nintendo ruled their free time, I volunteered for any and all yard work, just to be in the glorious sunshine.

Living in Birmingham, Alabama cured me of the sun worshipping. It was just too damn HOT out (sorry to those with tender ears. ‘darn’ just doesn’t cut it when describing the AL warmth). I still volunteered for yard work in Bham, but couldn’t wait to get it done and get out of the heat and humidity.  There doesn’t seem to be any of that oppressive humidity here. That’s hard to imagine for my bama friends. Trust me, its heaven on earth.

My cousin, Mary Liz Austin, is a professional photographer. She and her husband (Terry Donnelly) do glorious work. They also contribute shots to a lot of calendars. I took a photo of some clouds and posted it on Facebook. Mary Liz must have been bored because she ‘doctored it up’ for me. My ho-hum photo of some cool clouds was enhanced by her editing skills. It was almost like being here to see the uniquely shaped white fluffs in person.

I am often frustrated that I can’t capture the true beauty of this place to share with you via photos. I guess that leaves you no other choice. You will just have to visit!  Here are a few more of my amateur shots from the month of April. Don’t take my photos as proof it’s gorgeous here. Come see for yourself!

A short hike up the road behind us

Another view from the top with the son

View from our deck last night

I wonder what the month of May will bring… hopefully a job. We are planning to have a few quick visitors. Lance’s favorite aunt (Sally) and one of my dearest cousins (Kathleen) will be traveling through and promise to stop long enough for a visit and to enjoy the view.  Stay tuned for this month’s calendar shots, come what May…

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

One response »

  1. Can’t say the Midwest is anywhere near calendaresque. Unless there’s an audience for dark green/brown water river shots?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

