RSS Feed

NO SHAMPOO (For 8 Weeks)

NO SHAMPOO (For 8 Weeks)

I haven’t used shampoo since March. No, we didn’t run out. No, I’m not trying to prove a point or become a spectacle. Two months ago my daughter sent me a link that intrigued her about a woman who stopped using shampoo. The lady was poo-free. I had already gone to washing my hair every other day, something unimaginable in my previous life. I thought I’d give it a try. When I shower, I use a tablespoon of baking soda to scrub my scalp and follow with a 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar to rinse.

Yes, I bath frequently. Yes, we have plenty of shampoo. Yes, I realize you must all think I’ve gone bonkers. But it’s been quite interesting to see the changes in my hair. Shampoo manufacturers design their product to be needed. Addicted is more what they’re going for. For me, it was an every day need. My hair is thin and was always greasy. There was a rare Saturday when I’d skip the shower because I was too busy working in the yard. By the end of the day I felt like I’d stuck my head in a vat of french fries. I NEEDED to shampoo, even rinse and repeat.

Who amongst us likes the head of hair we were given? Not I, said the thin headed blonde wannabe mama. Looking back at photos of me from the past, I am shocked at the things I did to my hair. My quest to recapture the blondness of my youth took its toll. What’s worse than a blue haired  little old lady or a scraggly comb-over on a balding man? Fried blonde tresses. Yuck. My hair may have been the color of Madonna’s but it was the texture of a horse’s breakfast…STRAW.

I may be old and sagging, but my hair has never felt more vibrant. Ok, so that may be a bit much. But really, no shampoo, no hair-color, no blow dryer or curling device has left me with a healthy head of hair. Sure, I tell myself the gray strands could pass for blonde highlights. But no foolin’, my head doesn’t shed. I use to comb out enough strands to stuff a mattress. I’d stop up the drain after each shower so often that Lance was about to suggest I wear a shower cap so as not to clog the pipes.

Don’t you think we lead an interesting life up here in Idaho? No HVAC, not going anywhere for an entire month, walking a mile to the mailbox every day, having a moose come for breakfast, keeping chickens in our pantry. And now, no longer using shampoo. Maybe I’ll be sporting a shaved head soon, like my hunky hubby. I could start a trend. Or not.  Less IS more and I’ve cured my addiction to shampoo! How bout you? Do you think you could go shampooless?  The first week is the toughest, then, being pop-free is easypeasy.

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

3 responses »

  1. This is awesome! A lot of shampoos dry out hair and I’ve been looking for one that doesn’t. But maybe the answer is not using it at all! Do you still use conditioner? Or hair products like a leave-in treatment?

    Reply
    • The apple cider vinegar acts as my conditioner. It use to be difficult to comb through my thin tangles (not anymore). I have used that ‘mane and tail’ on my ends (when I wear a ball cap and pony tail). The first week my hair looked a tad scraggly. I miss the sudsiness of shampoo, but that is all. Ever consider not dying your hair? If only I would’ve been a fan of what color God had given me earlier in life. If you go poofree Coco, let me know!!

      Reply
  2. I am muy intrigued by this! I, too, leave enough hair behind on the drain cover to thatch a straw hut roof. Would love to lose LESS of my strands and not go bald by 40. :-/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

