RSS Feed

Weed Salad

Our yard is full of salad ingredients. Yep. More weird things we do out here, away from it all. I pull a couple of handfuls of leaves, wash them and plop them in with the lettuce.  I wonder what Whole Foods charges for a batch of them? Hmm, maybe I could sell that to our local Pilgrims Pantry. Labeled as organic, of course.

Freshly washed weeds

Top the leaves off with some home-grown sprouts and you have yourself a gourmet, healthy (cheap) salad. What is the weed du jour I’m about to feed my husband? The pesky yellow-flowered ones that seem to multiply every time you look in your yard, dandelions of course. We eat the tasty leaves in our salad. The benefits of dandelions are numerous. Aside from their nutritiousness, their bite adds kick to any dish. And better still, they’re plentiful and FREE. Don’t knock em til you’ve tried em. I’m betting I’ll have to fight our future free-range chickens for them. Go ahead, you’ve seen them in your yard, what are you waiting for?

Yummy, 1/2 free, salad

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

3 responses »

  1. I think weed salad is an EXCELLENT idea. We are soon going hunting for purslane and lambsquarters for the same purpose, to transplant some to our yard and eat em in a weed salad. Heck, you could follow your weed salad with a weed brownie! Oh wait, that’s something different … 😉

    Reply
    • You made me chuckle! I know not of these 2 weeds, purslane and lambsquarters, I shall do my google research now…

      Reply
    • I would add that the smaller leaves are more tender and not as bitter. I’ve also been told that thoroughly watered dandelions are much better, but haven’t confirmed. If you enjoy Arugula, you’ll appreciate dandelions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

