RSS Feed

Job Hunting = Mate Seeking

Job Hunting = Mate Seeking

A friend and I were marveling at how searching for a job is a lot like dating. She has a good job and I have a good man. I’m job hunting, she’s man hunting (well, sort of). Putting yourself out there, for employment or companionship, it’s tough. Rejection is brutal on all levels.

I don’t mean to brag, but I’ve never had to look hard for either, until now. I find myself wanting to become gainfully employed. It really shouldn’t be this difficult to find someone to pay me close to what I was making in AL. Maybe I’m too picky. I have a mental list of “I don’t want to do this”. It seems the #1 position available out there is caring for the elderly. Please, God, I don’t want to be old or care for the old, just yet. Next up is nursing. Ick and ugh. I don’t like seeing my blood, worse yet, anyone else’s. I don’t want to sell anything, especially insurance. Keep your own books and don’t ask me to drive a truck. Clean your house? I don’t even want to clean MY house.

A couple of interviews I went on felt like dating a geek. I felt I needed to give them a chance, but ick, please don’t call me back. A couple of jobs seemed like a perfect fit. A concierge for a development? Please, that’s what I did in Birmingham!!  Why didn’t you call me back? A position with a local Realty company as receptionist, front desk…um, yeah, I rock that desk…*sigh*

A friend told me if I put enough corks in the water I’ll eventually catch something, so I should keep fishin.  I’ve just never had to fish, for long. I am convinced it’s not what you know, but who you know. If I was in Birmingham, I’d have 10 jobs to choose from (granted, I’d have to steal 1/2 of them from my daughter).

Thankfully our wants are few and we live pretty cheaply (do I need to remind you of our dandelion salads and our pleasure from boxed wine?) Lance has enough on his ‘to do list’ to keep him busy for a good long while. Mare, well, laundry and lunch are complete by early afternoon.

No worries. I’ve got the love and support of a good man. That’s 1/2 the battle, right? I’m pretty sure God has something good in store for me employment wise. Maybe not tomorrow, or next week…. I look forward to bringing value in exchange for a decent wage. Stay tuned…

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

One response

  1. It’s frustrating when we want to get to a certain point on our path and can’t hurry it up, right? That great fit is out there, but you can’t rush it. All you can do is keep looking and putting yourself out there. It’ll come along when it’s ready! And they’ll be lucky to have ya. 😉

