RSS Feed

Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off To Work I Go

Tomorrow I embark on my 2nd month of work with my new employer (a local dock building company). I frequently thank God for all the jobs I did not get.  I also thank Him for allowing me to spend the last year working alongside Lance. Is it normal to wish I was busting my butt around the house and not getting paid rather than getting paid to sit in a comfie chair answering phones?

I’ve been reunited with ‘Sunday Night Dread’ and loathing the 5 day work week. I do not understand why we should spend a greater portion of our week at a job. I envy the self-employed, independently wealthy and those that are retired. Enough complaining. I am thankful to be be gainfully employed, again. Our expenses are few but we do like to eat, regularly.

There are many great things about my job. The office I work in is ‘only’ 19 miles away. I love the commute. It’s not the 3 block walk I once had but it is a beautiful drive. I may sing a different tune come winter. The first 5 miles are through our neighborhood. Winding roads along a lake surrounded by mountains. 5 more miles weaving through valleys and mountains. Then 5 miles through ‘The Flats’, rolling farm land that still takes my breath away. Funny how ‘The Flats’ are still hillier than the Texas Hill Country or any square inch of Iowa. I hail from Iowa, so farmland holds special fondness. I pass several cows, barns, pastures. There is even an old gray mare that reminds me that I, me, Mare, am getting old and gray, but not dead, yet. The last 4 miles wind through a little resort town. I do my best not to hit a tourist not looking both ways before they head over to the ice-creamery.

Another plus- there doesn’t seem to be a dress code in the office. Yee Haw! I remember when I first started with EBSCO Industries 11+ years ago. You weren’t allowed to where flip-flops or capris. T-shirts and ball caps were highly illegal. Thankfully I didn’t have to wear heels, hose or suits. My co-workers here wear shorts, jeans and any old T-shirt.  I haven’t worn anything so casual, yet. Just the thought that I CAN, brings me  great joy. I do wear flip-flops each and every day, hoping the frost doesn’t come too soon this year. Hmm, maybe I can get some toe socks 😉

The hours are great, I’m done each day at 3:30. It feels like school is letting out, I get home in time to enjoy our slice of paradise before the sun sets. The people I work with are laid back and nice, even if I am old enough to be their mother. The pay is better than McDonalds and the work more enjoyable than standing at a register at my local Wal-Mart. Easier on the legs of this ol gray Mare ;-). Oh, and there is health insurance, something people my age may need sooner or later.

Thank You God for helping me find a job later than sooner. I shall continue to go off to work each week until our ship comes in and I can retire. Maybe, just maybe, God will promote me to a senior citizen. Planting a garden and chasing grand children will be hard work, but I bet I’d be good at it.

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

2 responses

  1. I’m finding myself craving the country life more and more. I want a simpler lifestyle and a less stressful job. I agree with you that it seems unnatural that we spend the majority of our time working. When I’m on my deathbed it’ll be my biggest regret. I’m in an especially sour mood toward my job today because the last few work days have been terrible. I just need that million dollar idea that I can patent. Then I can buy a lake house and spend the rest of my life in hiding. 🙂

  2. Lance and Mare AND my good ol sister, Di, in Idaho? Oh, I’d so be on my way up and o’er there then!! 🙂 You know, you CAN buy a sweet RV for a fraction of the cost of a sweet house, hmm… On another note, based upon my informal (and not yet conducted) survey, jobs generally stink unless you are your own boss.

