RSS Feed

What’s For Dinner?

What’s For Dinner?

What mom/woman doesn’t loathe that question? Me. At least at this state in my life I no longer dread that question. There is a lot in my life I no longer dread. Maybe I’m just chillin’ out or maybe the hair color commercial of the 70s is right- I’m not getting older, I’m getting better (ha).

Growing up, dinner was at 5:30, without fail. Feeding a husband and 7 kids had to be quite a labor of love for my mom. Back in the 60s & 70s you just didn’t go to fast food places for dinner, ever.  We didn’t have a microwave either (we did have a dishwasher, her name was Becky). I am certain my mom got tired of cooking and figuring out ‘what’s for dinner’.

The apple didn’t fall far from the tree. I held dinner at 5:30 most nights. Looking back, feeding the kids right after school may have been smarter. They were always starving at the end of a long boring day of school. I didn’t think that was allowed, after all, dinner should be at dinnertime. I wonder if my kids feel compelled to dine at 5:30 or if they were able to break the curse.

With my ‘new’ job, I get off at 3:30. I joke that it feels like getting out of school. When I get home I’m starving, so I have dinner. Seems silly to wait till 5:30, especially when I’m starving at 4. Lance usually forgets to eat lunch til around 3, sitting down to a meal with this man doesn’t happen often. My feelings aren’t hurt, our marriage doesn’t suffer and no harm is done. Lance is the easiest person on the planet to feed. He loves good food but is quite content cracking open a can of ravioli or doctoring up a bowl of rice. Whatever is in the fridge that needs to be eaten, that’s what’s for dinner for him.

I have friends who post scrumptious photos of the elaborate meals they cook each night. Good for them. I’m thankful it’s not me behind that apron (tho an invite to dinner would never be turned down…Sasha). We did get a new oven 3 months ago. It’s not hooked up properly, yet- darn, I can’t cook 😉

What’s for dinner? Tonight it was sensible, a salad and baked potato (this IS Idaho, afterall). Tomorrow I’m envisioning pop corn, yum!

MMMMmmm, dinner

About Lets Go To Idaho

Me, Mare, empty nester, flew the coop (& heat) of Alabama and landed in northern Idaho. Bought a house without setting foot in the state. This blog was created in the summer of 2011, as my beau, Lance and I were packing to move to north... Many things, big and small, have happened since that blistering hot July in Bama when I began this blog. Read about our whirlwind adventures. Our real life love story. The good, the bad, the silly and the crazy things that happen to us.

One response

  1. I WISH Mia allowed me more time to cook! I miss it, and relish the time I do get to do it. Something soothing about chopping veggies (is that odd?). And the smell of onions sauteeing in butter and olive oil …. mmmmm!

